Skip to main content
Change a young life today!  |  Donate

Our Board

Comprised of both skilled and representative members, the WAYTCo board ensures diligent governance and oversight, whilst placing young people at the centre of decision making.

WAYTCo is now taking applications for casual vacancies on the 2024 Board of Management. Click on the button below to move to our Board Call Out page.

Call Out

Board Members


Gemma Cooper (She/Her) In her second year of service on the WAYTCo board, Gemma is a lawyer who practises insurance law and commercial litigation, specialising in directors’ and officers’ liability and management liability. A warm and collaborative leader, with an analytical and solutions-focused mind, Gemma has made a solid contribution to the work of the board in a very short time. Inspired by the wonderfully diverse community of young Western Australian creatives supported by WAYTCo, Gemma is excited to continue to apply her skills and attributes as Chairperson and to help steer WAYTCo to realise its vision under its new Strategic Plan (2023-27).


Deputy Chair

Natalie Lockwood (She/Her) Working in the transport sector for nearly two decades, Natalie is an experienced Program Manager and delivery specialist, passionate about building collaborative working relationships with stakeholders and the broader community. Natalie is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and was a Fellows Council Member for Roads Australia from 2018 –2020. Natalie holds a Bachelor of Civil and Construction Engineering (Hons) from Curtin University, a Diploma of Project Management and is a Fellow of Leadership WA and Roads Australia. An enthusiastic amateur, Natalie has dabbled in music for most of her life, currently enjoying the ukulele and djembe.



Kara Sands (She/Her) is an experienced finance professional having been employed in the professional services industry for nine years, specialising in auditing and assurance and delivering these services to some of Australia’s largest companies both private and ASX listed. Being treasurer for WAYTCo allows Kara to have the best of both worlds, combining her financial prowess with her passion for the arts, having had a previous career as a youth Speech and Drama teacher. Kara holds Bachelor’s degrees in Commerce (Accounting and Taxation) and Arts (Drama Studies) in addition to being a full member of Chartered Accountants Australia and New Zealand.



Laura Pitts (She/Her) is a singer and science communicator, with a background in experimental physics, foreign languages and classical music. She works in STEM theatre performance and outreach, through which she has gained extensive experience working with young people in regional and remote Western Australia. Laura has been with WAYTCo since 2016, first as an ensemble member and on the Youth Advisory Council (YAC), before joining the board in 2018. Laura is committed to providing opportunities for all young people to access performing arts training and has a strong interest in arts governance and sustainability.


Mollie Hewitt (She/Her) is an experienced arts leader who has delivered significant arts projects in communities throughout WA. As General Manager of WAYTCo (2018-2021) she secured multi-year partnerships and produced REST (2019-2020) and BESIDE (2021). As Curator and Regional Manager at FORM (2010-2018), Mollie delivered state-wide creative programming, exhibitions, residencies and arts facilities management, including the 2018 Pilbara Cultural and Creative Forum, the Hedland Art Awards 2012-2017 and digital return of content for the Canning Stock Route Project. As co-Director of Black Iris Consulting Mollie is a producer, fundraiser and strategic adviser for individual artists, not-for-profit organisations, local and State government.


Amanda Huxtable (She/Her) is an innovative educator who is highly skilled in curriculum planning and development. As Head of Dance and Drama at Santa Maria College, she has directed many theatre productions and large-scale events. Amanda volunteers as the Educational Consultant for The School of St Yared Ethiopia, a project under Hope For Children Australia. As a member of St Yared’s executive management team, Amanda has been involved in strategic planning, mentoring, professional development, community engagement and fundraising. Inspired by fostering empathy, curiosity and creativity in young people, Amanda is passionate about developing educational experiences that link learning to self-awareness and personal potential.


Max Leech (He/Him) has developed drama programs and devised youth theatre in Australia, Singapore and London. As a Principal Consultant at the School Curriculum and Standards Authority, he advises schools on drama and dance across Western Australia. He is committed to designing and implementing curriculums that meet realistic goals. Max is passionate about making Arts experiences available to all members of the community.


Jono Battista (He/Him) is a creator, sound designer and PAWA-nominated performer living and working in Boorloo (Perth). He graduated from WAAPA in 2019 with a BPA in Performance Making. His recent credits include Love Letters to the Revolution (2021, Sian Murphy) as a performer, REST (2019, WAYTCo) as a performer and dramaturg, The Cockatoos (2019, WAYTCo) as assistant director, and A Nought For A Cross (2021, The Perthian Chronicles) as sound designer and composer. He also co-adapted, co-directed and performed in REST for its 2021 remount. Jono is a member of the Board of WAYTCo and Chairs its Youth Advisory Committee (YAC).


Zenatalla Ibrahim (They/Them) is a seasoned storyteller, lived experience speaker and published slam performance poet. They have worked with TEDxPerth (2018), BeyondBlue (2016 onwards), Centre for Stories (2019 onwards) and BurnBright (2020 onwards) regularly – talking about their journey as a neurodivergent non-binary Muslim queer person. They pride themselves on being engaged in community and creating avenues for representation and change using the power of vulnerable and authentic storytelling. They have served the UWA Student Guild (2017 Corporate Services and Women’s Dept, 2018 Access Dept) and have attended an arts governance masterclass series (2022) to upskill for their capacity on the Board.


Jessica Darlow (She/Her) is a West Australian based arts professional with over a decade of experience in festival management and programming. She held positions at Fringe World Festival and Brisbane Festival before taking the role of Senior Program Manager at Perth Festival, where she has been responsible for the delivery of the performance program since 2017. A skilled strategic thinker and innovator, Jessica has played an important role in the growth and development of festivals in Western Australia. With particular interest in performing arts, Jessica has managed the delivery of large-scale festival programs from conception, through to development, delivery and accountability.

Cezera Critti-Schnaars (She/Her) is a proud Nyoongar- Greek theatre maker with a passion for theatre. Since completing the Aboriginal Performance Course at WAAPA (2018), she has worked with a number of companies in both acting, writing and directing roles. Performance credits: Hecate (Yirra Yaakin, 2020), Little Women (Mel & Sal and The Blue Room, 2021). Directing: YirraYakin-WAYTCo’s Ngalaka Daa (2021, 2022); WAYTCo’s Seven Sisters for Perth Festival (2023), co-directed with James Berlyn.  Awards: Best Newcomer; Best Supporting Actress (Performing Arts WA Awards, 2020).