Board and Staff


The WA Youth Theatre Company is governed by our Constitution, which outlines our purpose. The Constitution is available for members to read, see download link at the bottom of this page. 

Board membership of the company consists of 12 members – made up of professionals in the areas of arts, philanthropy, finance, education business and law. The Board also has two youth Board Members representing the members of the Company. 

The Board meets every six weeks and an AGM for all members is held annually in April. Any current member is eligible to be nominated for a position on the Board or our Youth Advisory Panel.



Tim Minchin is an internationally renowned comedian and musician, who was a member of WA Youth Theatre in the 1990s and participated in the company both as a Performer and a Musical Director.  Under the tutelage of original Artistic Director Jenny Davis, Tim honed his performance skills in the company. 

Tim has travelled and performed internationally and his credits include performing in the arena spectaular Jesus Christ Superstar and Sydney Theatre Company's production of Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead, as well as writing the hugely successful Broadway musical Matilda. In 2015, he will appear as Northern Irish ex-convict, Smasher Sullivan, in Secret River, an Australian drama mini series directed by Daina Reid for the ABC.


Erica Smyth has almost 40 years experience in the mineral and petroleum industries. She was Principal Geologist for BHP Minerals Limited for 7 years, and then BHP-Utah Minerals International’s Beenup Project Manager for 4 years, before moving to BHP Petroleum as their Manager Gas Market Development WA and later joined Woodside Petroleum Limited as General Manager – Corporate Affairs. She has been a professional company director since 2005. She has a Bachelor of Science from University of Western Australia and an Applied Master of Science from McGill University in Montreal, Canada. In 2008 she was awarded an Honorary Doctor of Letters from the University of Western Australia and in 2012 was elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

She is currently the Chair of Toro Energy Limited and the Diabetes Research Foundation of WA. She is also a Director of Emeco Holdings Ltd; the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO), the Deep Exploration Targeting CRC, the Royal Flying Doctor Service (Western Operations), and the Harry Perkins Institute of Medical Research. The Chamber of Mines & Energy (WA), as part of the Women in Resources Award 2010, awarded Dr Smyth a Lifetime Achievement Award for her contribution to the industry and in 2013 she was included in the Women in Mining (UK) list of 100 Inspirational Women in Mining.



Andy Farrant (Chair)

SAMANTHA REES (Deputy Chair)

Kara Sands (Treasurer)

Cecilia Cornu (Secretary)



Simone Detourbet

kathryn Shaw

Paige Gibbs

Laura Pitts



Youth Advisory panel

Rachel Abelha

Jen Bagg

Jono Battista

Luke Binetti

Dylan Chua-Limargana

Adam Kelly

Amber Kitney

Ella Peeters

Joe Teakle

Ciara Sadler

Jesse Vakatini



Mollie Hewitt - general manager

james berlyn - ARTISTIC DIRECTOR / executive producer